Leadership and Administration

The Department of Medicine at Emory University is the largest department within the Emory School of Medicine and is led by Chairman David S. Stephens, MD.

There is a large group of administrators and other staff to support the faculty in their research, education and clinical care endeavors. Please reach out to any of the following people in the area you need assistance.

Department of Medicine Leadership Team

The Emory University Department of Medicine leadership team is composed of leaders from across Woodruff Health Sciences Center and affiliates including the Emory Hospitals, Emory Clinic, Atlanta VA Medical Center, Grady Memorial Hospital.  


• Chairman, Department of MedicineDavid S. Stephens, MD 
• Executive Vice ChairJeff M. Sands, MD
• Vice Chair, Atlanta VA Medical Center - Mark Nanes, PhD, MD
• Vice Chair, EducationWendy Armstrong, MD, FIDSA, FACP
Vice Chair, Grady Affairs – Jeffrey L. Lennox, MD
• Vice Chair, Quality and Clinical Effectiveness – Nathan Spell III, MD
• Vice Chair, Research and Faculty Development  – Kathy Griendling, PhD
• Associate Vice Chair, Research - Russ Price, PhD
• Residency Program DirectorLorenzo Difrancesco, MD

Chief Residents

  • Emory University HospitalJenna Kay, MD404-727-2993
  • Emory University Hospital MidtownKiran Valiani, MD,404-686-3260
  • Grady Memorial Hospital -  Roshan Patel, MD404-251-8779
  • Grady Memorial HospitalThi Gunter, MD404-251-8780
  • Atlanta Veterans Affairs Medical CenterSong Li, MD404-235-3000
  • Ambulatory Chief ResidentCurtis Jamison, Jr., MD


Clinical Administration

Director, The Emory Clinic: Douglas Morris, MD, 404-778-4801

Assistant to Director, The Emory Clinic: Marilyn Battles, 404-778-4801

Executive Director, Clinic-OP: Paul Hammonds, 404-778-5342

Senior Clinical Administrator, Kevin Andrews, 404-778-2513

Assistant to Executive Director, Clinic-OP: Martha E. Alm, 404-778-5342

Faculty Development

  • Vice Chair: Kathy Griendling, PhD, 404-727-3364
  • Assistant to Vice Chair: Karen Summers, 404-727-3364
  • Associate Director - Programs: Alia Kamel, 404-712-0855
  • Faculty Development Coordinator: Katie Davis, 404-712-1382


  • Associate Administrator - Steven Doney, 404-727-7064
  • Senior Accountant  - Rita Frazier, 404-712-2966

Grady Affairs

  • Chief of Medicine Service and Vice Chair: Jeffrey Lennox, MD 404-251-8782
  • Assistant to Chief of Service: Michael Roe, 404-251-8784
  • Administrator - Grady Operations and Education: Steven Doney, 404-251-8783

Hospital Service Chiefs

Human Resources

  • Human Resources Manager -  Jennifer Biggers, 404-727-7064
  • Human Resources Associate - Renee Hawes, 404-727-5184
  • Human Resources Specialist  - Jo Crawford, 404-727-5145

Information Technology

IT support team

  • Manager, Information Technology: Sonja Westbrook, 404-712-1423
  • Manager, SOM IT - Grady: Nina Lewis, 404-712-1443
  • Senior Desktop Consultant: Morris Royal, 404-712-1443
  • Senior Desktop Consultant: Stan Watts, 404-712-1443
  • Senior Desktop Consultant: Adam Woodburn, 404-712-1443
  • Senior Desktop Consultant - Grady: John Scott, 404-712-1443

View members of the Department of Medicine's IT Committees.

Medical Education and Residency Programs

  • Vice Chair: Wendy Armstrong, 404-778-1613
  • Residency Program Director: Lorenzo Di Francesco, MD, 404-251-8790
  • Residency Program Administrator: Jennifer Hill,404-251-8778
  • Program Coordinator - Events: Thedis Carries, 404-251-8789
  • Program Coordinator - Recruitment and Med/Psych: Danielle Terrell, 404-251-8788
  • Program Coordinator - HR and Verifications: Gwen President, 404-251-8787
  • Program Coordinator - Primary Care/Ambulatory Block Coordinator: Shylika Glickman, 404-251-8791
  • Accountant: Lynn Wiley 404-251-8738
  • Information Analyst: Chris Alspaugh, 404-251-8795
  • Transitional Year Residency/Assistant to Vice Chair: LaToya Geter-Carter, 404-251-8866
  • Medical Clerkship - Program Coordinator: Pam Cohen, 404-778-1655

Operations Administration

  • Chairman: David S. Stephens, MD, 404-727-8357
  • Executive Assistant to Chairman: Dianne Watson, 404-727-8357
  • Executive Vice Chair: Jeff Sands, MD, 404-727-2525
  • Assistant to the Executive Vice Chair: Sheila Thomas, 404-727-3959
  • Interim Executive Administrator: Marilea Grider ,404-712-1375
  • Senior Clinical Administrator: Kevin Andrews, 404-727-2513
  • Program Coordinator: Molly Dunham-Friel, 404-727-7878
  • Communications Specialist: Kelly Bingham, 404-727-7009
  • Senior Marketing Manager: Kelly Frazer Johnson, 404-550-4416

Quality Improvement

  • Vice Chair for Quality: Nathan Spell, MD, 404-712-2311
  • Assistant to Vice Chair for Quality: Vacant, 404-778-5374

Research Administration Service (RAS)

Emory's Research Administration Service is led by Nancy Jenkins.

Full RAS staff listing.

Research Leadership

  • Vice Chair: Kathy Griendling, PhD, 404-727-3364
  • Assistant to Vice Chair: Karen Summers, 404-727-3364
  • Associate Vice Chair: Russ Price, PhD, 404-727-3934
  • Senior Program Coordinator: Ashley Freeman, 404-712-3280