Alvaro Velasquez, MD

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Department of Medicine

Office: EUHM MOT 6th Fl

Phone: 404-686-2505

Fax: 404-686-4840



Dr. Velasquez is an Assistant Professor of Medicine at Emory University in the Division of Pulmonary, Sleep, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine. He obtained his medical degree from CES University, Colombia in 1987 where he later served as Instructor of the Department of Medicine until 1990.  In 1996 he completed his internship and residency in Internal Medicine at Saint Louis University and served as Chief Resident for an additional year. In 1997 he moved to Atlanta, GA where he completed his fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Emory University. He graduated in 2000 and moved to Alabama where he established a clinical practice for 5 years, returning to Atlanta in 2005 to join the Emory Faculty’s division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine.  Dr. Velasquez has been the Section Chief of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Emory University Hospital Midtown (EUHM) since 2011, and the Director of the Pulmonary Function Laboratory as of 2006. He also heads one of the Clinical Resource Centers of the Alpha One Foundation in the State of Georgia located at the Medical Office Tower in Emory University Hospital Midtown.      

Dr. Velasquez teaches residents and pulmonary fellows during their rotation through the Medical Intensive Care Unit at EUHM, attends and teaches the house staff of the pulmonary consultation service and works with the second year medical students at the School of Medicine during their Pulmonary Module.  He received the Golden Apple Teaching Award in 2007 and the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Teaching Award in 2008.  Most recently, he received the Lindy Wolfenden Star Award in 2013 for his contributions to the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine.

Dr. Velasquez has a clinical interest in patients with COPD and in particular those with Alpha 1 anti-trypsin deficiency. He has been a member of the American Thoracic Society since 1997.