Academy of Medical Educators

The Emory University Department of Medicine's Academy of Medical Educators (AME) is designed to reward teaching and to promote best practices in teaching across the department. The AME's mission is to advance and support teaching across the Department of Medicine. The goals of the Academy of Medical Educators are: to identify, recognize, and honor master teachers; to develop and implement innovative education tools and programs; and to mentor and train aspiring educators who will act as role models for other faculty.

Academy Members


History and Need

The Emory Department of Medicine has a long history of providing outstanding medical education to undergraduates, residents, and fellows.  In 2010, the Emory Department of Medicine Academy of Medical Educators was formed after discussions with faculty and leadership.

Academy of Medical Educators Inaugural Inductees

Inaugural Inductees

Membership Application Process


To apply, please remit the following application components to:

Kymberly McMillan, 404-251-8796 

A nomination from the applicant’s division director, which should highlight the applicant’s outstanding performance in one of the following five categories:

  • Direct Teaching - Faculty members who perform with distinction as teachers show unusual ability in presenting and reinforcing information, stimulating thinking, and in triggering discussion and synthesis. They consistently perform distinctly better than their peers across a range of teaching activities.
  • Curriculum Development and Instructional Design - Faculty members who perform with distinction in this category are typically responsible for the development of new or substantially revised courses or clerkships. They demonstrate the ability to recognize unmet curricular needs and to bring a new curricular element from idea to reality. They include appropriate evaluation approaches to assess the impact of their innovation.
  • Advising and Mentoring - Faculty members performing with distinction expend unusual effort as mentors and advisors and by virtue of this effort and the effectiveness of their efforts are sought out by students as formal advisors, informal mentors, collaborators on research and other projects and as career advisors.
  • Educational Administration and Leadership - Faculty members in this category serve with distinction as course directors, curriculum coordinators, members of committees involved with the planning and/or evaluation of education. Their courses and clerkships are particularly well-run; they are effective in providing guidance and opportunities for growth to more junior faculty and they participate actively and effectively in curricular activities beyond their own course or clerkship. Educational Administration and Leadership is required in the Educator’s Portfolios of applicants who have had a significant leadership role. Weight will be given to those with established track records. Reflection on future plans in this domain is encouraged.Educational Research - Candidates achieving distinction in this category are generating new knowledge and having an impact on medical education regionally or nationally. The central activities of educational research are:
    • Creation of enduring educational materials that are adopted beyond Emory University
    • Publication and presentations of peer-reviewed work regionally/nationally
    • Receipt of grants or contracts based on peer review of written proposals

A personal statement addressing the applicant’s educational philosophy, a description of past teaching efforts, a vision for teaching in the DOM, and intended contributions to the Academy (3 pages maximum) 3. At least, 2 supporting letters from past or current trainees or peers

Duties and Responsibilities

Members of the Academy of Medical Educators are expected to create, support and participate in activities sponsored by the Academy.

  • Working groups: Each class will be expected to choose a project from a list recommended by the Department leadership and will work together to complete the project during the first year of membership. Projects will include the development of goals, a strategic plan, guidelines for implementation, and identification of necessary resources. The project will be presented to the department leadership and the Academy of Medical Educators Executive Committee at the end of the year in a formal setting. Projects are expected to lead to scholarly output.
  • Recognition: The Academy of Medical Educators will administer an awards program to recognize outstanding teachers. Based on the missions of the Academy, the members will determine if additional educational or scholarly activities should be formally recognized. Formal recognition will take place during a festive annual event.
  • Educational programs: The Academy is responsible for facilitating programs that may enhance clinical as well as teaching skills for faculty, residents and fellows. The Academy is charged with offering such training, in the form of a quarterly or monthly seminar series, workshops, webinars and other on-line resources, as well as one-on-one consultations.
  • Teaching resources: In collaboration with the Vice Chair for Education, it is the responsibility of the Academy to create and centralize teaching resources such as evaluation tools, training modules, and examples of best practices, and make them available to the Emory Department of Medicine. Members of the Academy are expected to disseminate this collective wisdom to the Department of Medicine through a readily accessible medium, such as web access.
  • Scholarship of teaching: As the Academy develops, it is expected to present at national meetings and submit manuscripts describing development of the Academy, workshops and other material, as well as outcomes of these initiatives, to academic journals to share the knowledge gained from this model.
  • Membership elections: It is the responsibility of Academy members to hold annual elections for Academy membership.
  • Evaluation of teaching programs: Periodic assessment surveys of Academy teaching programs will be conducted by Academy members. The surveys will be administered to faculty members as well as trainees in the Department of Medicine. The information garnered from the surveys will be used to refine and further develop the Academy. Individual Divisions can use the information to gauge their successes as well as to develop or refine internal programs.