Skip Navigation

The Jack Shulman Teaching Award

The Jonas A. Shulman Teaching Award

Dr. Jonas A. Shulman

Dr. Jack Shulman was recruited to Emory by Dr. J Willis Hurst, and he quickly developed a reputation as an excellent clinician and teacher. He became Division Director in 1971, and in 1975, he became an assistant dean in Emory's School of Medicine.  In 1991, Dr. Shulman became the associate dean of students in the School of Medicine. His works as dean led to Dr. Shulman being award the Thomas Jefferson Award and the Evangeline Papageorge Teaching Award. His dedication to medical education and training have been the model that all members of our division strive to follow.

The Jonas A. Shulman Teaching Award is award by the Fellows of Infectious Diseases to the member of the Division of Infectious Diseases Faculty who exemplifies the ideals of Dr. Shulman and demonstrates consummate skills as a clinician educator.

Previous Awardees:

2010  Alicia Hidron
2009 Melissa K. Osborn
2008 Wendy S. Armstrong
2007 Molly E. Eaton
2006 Carlos Franco-Paredes